Clos Larrouyat

Clos Larrouyat

Maxime Salharang

One of the references of Jurançon, Maxime Salharang and Clos Larrouyat produce wines of extreme accuracy.


Filter:

Price
The highest price is €40,00 Reset
Product type
0 selected Reset
Notation nature
0 selected Reset
Availability
0 selected Reset

1 product

Comète 2020 - Clos Larrouyat
€40,00
Comète 2020 - Clos Larrouyat
Sud-Ouest
Vin blanc
Vin en biodynamie
Sold Out





The Jurançon reference

It is undeniable, Maxime Salharang is recognized for his work in biodynamics, it is clearly one of the references of Jurançon. It is in homage to his grandfather that he takes over 3 hectares in 2011, since his work excels in the world of natural wine, in particular on his appellation. Wines of extreme accuracy, fine and powerful at the same time. To discover on Epi-curious!

The story of the Clos Larrouyat

The Clos Larrouyat is located in the Pyrénées-Atlantiques, in the Jurançon appellation. Perched facing the Pyrenean chain, the vines of this magnificent appellation benefit from the protection of the Pic du Midi d'Ossau (mountain culminating at 2884 meters of elevation). Local grape varieties, such as Petit Manseng and Gros Manseng, personalize the character of dry, and sweet wines.
The story of Clos de Larrouyat is about a place, more precisely about soil. These lands are classified as a Jurançon controlled designation of origin, located on a unique soil of tablecloths and pebbles in the Ossau Valley, owned by Roger Larrouyat.
After obtaining his license in physics and chemistry, Maxime Salharang, Roger Larrouyat's maternal grandson, gives a whole new importance to the world of wine and decides to continue his studies in oenology in Bordeaux. After the death of his grandfather, Maxime decides to pay homage to him by recovering his land. In 2010, he started working at the Domaine de Souch, six kilometers away from Pau, where he discovered organic farming, biodynamics and other natural methods related to wine. A huge change for the winegrower with a degree in chemistry! He will now use his natural methods to produce natural wines.
It was in 2011 that Maxime planted his first vines, for a total of 3 hectares today. His partner Lucie Salharang, daughter of winegrowers from Entre-Deux-Mers and a mechanical design engineer, joined him in his adventure. That same year, Maxime stopped working with the Domaine des Souch to devote himself fully to his vineyard. This is how the Clos de Larrouyat was born by the winemaker Maxime Salharang.




The Jurançon: an exceptional soil!

The Jurançon is mainly known for its sweet wine but also exists in dry and both hold a controlled designation of origin. The characteristics of these soils are similar to those of the Pyrenees chain. Shaped by torrents, we find on these soils both transported pebbles and limestone pebbles with a clayey upper level.
The soil of Clos Larrouyat is mainly made up of clay and rolled pebbles, debris from the formation of the Pyrenees 40 million years ago. It also has the privilege of being located on Triassic soil (rock 250 million years old) making it unique since it is the only one to be located on this soil. Thus providing the most profound, digestible and fresh wines of the appellation.
Regarding the autochthonous grape varieties grown on this soil, they are the Petit Manseng, the Gros Manseng, the Lauzet, the Camaralet de Lasseube, the Petit Courbu and the Courbu Blanc.
For Clos Larrouyat, Maxime produces his natural wines mainly from the Petit Manseng and Gros Manseng grape varieties, as well as Camaralet in smaller quantities.
A fabulous soil, recognized for its potential, which Maxime Salharang manages to highlight with his natural wines from Jurançon, in particular thanks to the cultivation of Biodynamics.

From chemistry to biodynamic!

After working at the Domaine des Souch for several years, Maxime discovered much more natural methods to take care of the vines while respecting the environment and following the lunar cycles as well as herbal tea-based treatments in particular. This is called biodynamic. Although Maxime has a degree in chemistry, it is towards the natural that he decides to engage in order to exploit healthier wines, closer to the soil and to the truth. Natural wines.
Working biodynamically, is to say as naturally as possible, this is the new approach adopted by the winemaker couple. For the maintenance of the vines, Lucie trained in animal traction, with the aim of buying a horse later for ploughing. Indeed, for Lucie, eco-grazing is essential for the maintenance and enrichment of the plots. “The place of the living is essential”, according to the words of the winegrower.
Currently, a dozen Ouessant sheep graze through the vines from November to March cleaning the soil and also producing fertilizer. We can therefore claim that the two winegrowers cultivate the link with the living to implement the soil of Jurançon through their natural wines.
The vines are harvested manually with a bucket and brought directly to the press without any other manipulation. The goal is to intervene as little as possible and keep the grapes intact.
The work and thoughtful application of Maxime and Lucie's cultivation methods will soon make Clos Larrouyat a future great in the appellation.

The Clos Larrouyat wines

Excellent in their profession, Maxime and Lucie produce natural wines of delicate freshness, minerality and intensity rare for the Jurançon appellation. The couple highlights the acidity and tension of their wines, revealing an incomparable power.
Comète 2020 is a white wine made from Petit Manseng (75%) supplemented with Camaralet (25%). This dry Jurançon represents the top-of-the-range cuvée of Clos Larrouyat. Remarkably long, combining purity and finesse. The salinity of the appellation brings even more complexity to the wine.
Another dry Jurançon is also highlighted, Météore 2020, a white wine made with 60% Gros Manseng and 40% Petit Manseng. Aged in barrels of several wines for more than six months, the grape varieties are vinified separately and then, finally, blended before bottling. It is a benchmark of biodynamics, concocted by Maxime and Lucie thanks to their rigorous work.
Osmose 2019 is a specific bottle since it was produced by Maxime and Bastien, a longtime friend. As promised, it's done, the two longtime friends had this common desire to create a common cuvée, a cuvée to share. The collaboration of these two college friends then gave birth to the Osmose cuvée. A concentrated Syrah of freshness and spices, to share with friends or family.
Healthy wines that perfectly enhance the Jurançon soil, to be found on the Epi-curieux.com website.

Having trouble making a choice?

Topo, our robot sommelier helps you choose from more than 600 wines, according to your preferences. They even say he gives you a gift at the end 🤫...

100% grapes

Fast shipping

Delivery from 12€

Secure payment

Clos Larrouyat

L’une des références du Jurançon, Maxime Salharang et le Clos Larrouyat réalise des vins d’une extrême justesse.

Filtre :

Prix
Le prix le plus élevé est de €40,00 Réinitialiser
Type de produit
0 sélectionnés Réinitialiser

3 produits

bouteille de vin rouge sur des bouchons de liège
€26,00
Osmose 2019 - Clos Larrouyat
Sud-Ouest
Vin rouge
Aucune analyse Aucune analyse
bouteille de vin blanc sur des bouchons de liège
€40,00
Comète 2020 - Clos Larrouyat
Sud-Ouest
Vin blanc
Aucune analyse Aucune analyse
bouteille de vin blanc sur des bouchons de liège
€26,50
Météore 2020 - Clos Larrouyat
Sud-Ouest
Vin blanc
Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0 (1)
Épuisé





La référence de Jurançon

C’est indéniable, Maxime Salharang est reconnu pour son travail en biodynamie, c’est clairement l’une des références de Jurançon. C’est en hommage à son grand-père qu’il reprend 3 hectares en 2011, depuis son travail excelle dans le monde du vin naturel, en particulier sur son appellation. Des vins d’une extrême justesse, fins et puissants à la fois. A découvrir sur Epi-curieux !

L’Histoire du Clos Larrouyat

Le Clos de Larrouyat se situe dans les Pyrénées-Atlantique, dans l’appellation Jurançon. Perchées face à la chaîne pyrénéenne, les vignes de cette magnifique appellation bénéficient de la protection du Pic du Midi d’Ossau (montagne culminant à 2884 mètres). Les cépages locaux, tels que le Petit Manseng et Gros Manseng, personnalisent le caractère des vins secs, liquoreux et moelleux.
L’histoire du Clos de Larrouyat est celle d’un lieu, plus précisément de terres. Ces terres sont classées en appellation d’origine contrôlée Jurançon, implantées sur un terroir unique de nappes et galets dans la Vallée de l’Ossau, détenu par Roger Larrouyat.
Après avoir obtenu sa licence en physique-chimie, Maxime Salharang, petit fils maternel de Roger Larrouyat, accorde une toute autre importance au monde du vin et décide de poursuivre ses études en œnologie à Bordeaux. Après le décès de son grand-père, Maxime décide de lui rendre hommage en récupérant ses terres. En 2010, il commence à travailler au Domaine de Souch, à six kilomètres de Pau, où il y découvre l’agriculture biologique, la biodynamie et d’autres méthodes naturelles liées au vin. Un énorme changement pour le vigneron diplômé en chimie ! Il utilisera désormais ses méthodes naturelles pour produire des vins natures.
C’est en 2011 que Maxime plantera ses premiers pieds de vignes, pour au total en posséder 3 hectares aujourd’hui. Sa compagne Lucie Salharang, fille de viticulteurs de l’Entre-Deux-Mers et ingénieure en conception mécanique, le rejoint dans son aventure. Cette même année, Maxime arrête de travailler avec le Domaine des Souch pour se consacrer pleinement à son vignoble. C’est ainsi que naît le Clos de Larrouyat par le vigneron Maxime Salharang.

Le Jurançon : un terroir d’exception !

Le Jurançon est principalement connu pour son vin moelleux mais existe aussi en sec et les deux détiennent une appellation d’origine contrôlée. Les caractéristiques de ces sols sont semblables à celles de la chaîne des Pyrénées. Façonnés par les torrents, on y trouve sur ces sols à la fois des galets charriés et des galets de calcaire avec un niveau supérieur argileux.
Le terroir du Clos Larrouyat est constitué principalement d’argiles et de galets roulés, débris de la formation des Pyrénées il y a 40 millions d’années. Il a également le privilège d’être situé sur un sol de trias (roche vieille de 250 millions d’années) le rendant unique puisqu’il est le seul à être implanté sur ce sol. Prodiguant ainsi les vins les plus profonds, digestes et frais de l’appellation.
Concernant les cépages autochtones cultivés sur ce terroir, sont obtenus le Petit Manseng, le Gros Manseng, le Lauzet, le Camaralet de Lasseube, le Petit Courbu et le Courbu Blanc.
Pour le Clos Larrouyat, Maxime produit ses vins natures principalement à partir des cépages Petit Manseng et Gros Manseng, ainsi que Camaralet en plus petite quantité.
Un terroir fabuleux, reconnu pour son potentiel, que parvient à mettre en valeur Maxime Salharang avec ses vins naturels de Jurançon notamment grâce à la culture de la Biodynamie.

De la chimie à la biodynamie !

Après avoir travaillé au Domaine des Souch pendant plusieurs années, Maxime découvre des méthodes beaucoup plus naturelles afin de prendre soin des vignes tout en respectant l’environnement et en suivant les cycles lunaires ainsi que des traitements à base de tisane notamment. C’est ce qu’on appelle la biodynamie. Bien que Maxime ait été diplômé en chimie, c’est vers le naturel qu’il décide de s’engager afin d’exploiter des vins plus sains, plus proches du terroir et de la vérité. Des vins natures.
Travailler en biodynamie, c’est-à-dire le plus naturellement possible, voilà la nouvelle démarche qu'adopte le couple de vigneron. Pour l’entretien des vignes, Lucie s’est formée à la traction animale, avec comme optique d’acheter un cheval par la suite pour les labours. En effet, pour Lucie, l'éco-pâturage est essentiel pour l’entretien et l’enrichissement des parcelles. “La place du vivant est primordiale", d’après les dires de la vigneronne.
Actuellement, une dizaine de moutons d’Ouessant pâture à travers les vignes de novembre à mars nettoyant les sols et produisant également de l’engrais. On peut donc prétendre que les deux vignerons cultivent le lien avec le vivant pour mettre en œuvre le terroir du Jurançon à travers leurs vins naturels.
Les vignes sont vendangées manuellement avec un seau et amenées directement au pressoir sans aucune autre manipulation. Le but étant d’intervenir le moins possible et de garder le raisin intact.
Le travail et l’application réfléchie des méthodes de culture de Maxime et Lucie feront bientôt du Clos Larrouyat un futur grand de l’appellation.

Les vins du Clos Larrouyat

Excellents dans leur métier, Maxime et Lucie produisent des vins naturels d’une fraîcheur délicate, d’une minéralité et d’une intensité rare pour l’appellation Jurançon. Le couple met en avant l’acidité et la tension de leurs vins, révélant une puissance incomparable.
Comète 2020 est un vin blanc à base de Petit Manseng (75%) complété de Camaralet (25%). Ce Jurançon sec représente la cuvée haut de gamme du Clos Larrouyat. D’une longueur remarquable alliant pureté et finesse. La salinité de l’appellation vient apporter encore plus de complexité au vin.
Un autre jurançon sec se met également en avant, Météore 2020, un vin blanc élaboré avec 60% de Gros Manseng et 40% de Petit Manseng. Élevé en barrique de plusieurs vins pendant plus de six mois, les cépages sont vinifiés séparément puis, finalement, assemblés avant la mise en bouteille. C’est une référence de la biodynamie, concoctée par Maxime et Lucie grâce à leur travail rigoureux.
Osmose 2019 est une cuvée spécifique puisqu’elle a été produite par Maxime et Bastien, un ami de longue date. Chose promise c’est chose faite, les deux amis de longue date avaient cette envie commune de créer une cuvée commune, une cuvée de partage. La collaboration de ces deux copains de fac donne alors naissance à la cuvée Osmose. Une Syrah concentrée de fraîcheur et d’épices, à partager entre amis ou en famille.
Des vins sains valorisant parfaitement le terroir du Jurançon, à retrouver sur le site Epi-curieux.com.

100% raisins

Expédition rapide

Livraison à partir de 8€

Paiement sécurisé